What Are the Types of Immigration?

There are several types of immigration, including refugees, undocumented immigrants, and legal permanent residents. There is also temporary protected status (TPS) visas, diversity visas, and visas that temporarily allow people to stay in the United States.

Undocumented Immigrants

The United States has been a destination for millions of people looking for a better life. However, many of these immigrants are undocumented. This lack of legal status significantly impacts their health and well-being.

The United States has a diverse population of over 11 million undocumented immigrants. The majority are from Mexico, Central America, and Asia. They make a significant economic contribution to the U.S., but many face stigma and discrimination.

These people are often subject to deportation and separation from family and friends. These effects can create psychological stress. In addition, the fear of deportation can lead to poor mental health and reduced civic participation.

Many undocumented immigrants have been a part of the nation’s economy for decades. Without their contributions, the economy would suffer.

Since the Islamic revolution, there has been tension in the political relationship between the United States and Iran. Because of this connection, it may be challenging for Iranian nationals to travel to or settle in the United States. However, you can get a visa if you work with a lawyer familiar with the particular consulate procedures.

A qualified and knowledgeable Iranian immigration lawyer represents Iranian nationals seeking entry into the United States. Contact our legal office immediately if you’re an individual looking for a family visa or an employment visa in the United States.


Refugees are forced to leave their country of origin, usually because of a war, natural disaster, or persecution. These people have the right to live in a country with better economic and social conditions, but they are not guaranteed to be able to return to their original homes.

The United Nations has outlined the rights of immigrants and refugees. The 1951 international convention outlines several protections.

A refugee is a person who has been forced to flee his or her country of origin because of war, persecution, violence, or natural disasters. The United States is a party to the 1951 Refugee Convention.

Asylum seekers are people who have fled their country because of a threat of political, religious, or ethnic persecution. These individuals must be recognized by their local government before being considered refugees.

Legal Permanent Residents

Lawful permanent residents, also known as “green card holders,” have the legal right to live, work, and own property in the United States. These individuals can apply to become citizens. However, the process can take many years to complete.

Immigrants can be granted legal permanent residence through one of three processes. The first involves marriage. Applicants must meet specific requirements and must prove a bona fide marriage. In addition, both spouses must sign Form I-751. Divorced spouses can obtain a waiver of this requirement.

In addition, permanent residents are entitled to receive federal benefits. These include in-state tuition rates at select colleges and universities. They are also entitled to receive financial assistance from public colleges. They may also be eligible to join the armed forces.

Aside from receiving these benefits, green card holders can travel to and from the U.S.. They are also eligible to receive federal social security and other benefits.

Temporary Protected Status (TPS)

Temporary Protected Status (TPS) offers deportation protections and work authorization to people from countries where conditions pose a serious risk to their safety. The Department of Homeland Security administers the TPS program. It was introduced in 1990 as part of the Immigration Act of 1990.

The Trump Administration tried to terminate the designations for Nicaragua, Honduras, and Nepal. However, federal courts ruled in favor of the TPS holders. The three countries are slated to be designated for another six months.

Democrats and Republicans have supported the TPS program for over thirty years. Some migrant rights supporters argue for reforming the program to make it easier for migrants to gain permanent residency.

Applicants must meet specific requirements to qualify for TPS. They must be from a TPS-designated country, have lived in the U.S. for at least one year, and have not participated in terrorist activities. They must also not have a criminal record. They are required to pay a substantial filing fee.

Diversity Visas

Diversity visas are types of immigration that allow individuals to live and work in the United States. The program is intended to increase the number of immigrants from countries that do not send many immigrants to the United States.

The program is designed to promote fair and equitable access to immigration opportunities. It does this by allocating a small percentage of visas to countries that are underrepresented in immigrant intake to the U.S.

There are some requirements that applicants need to meet to be considered eligible.

First and foremost, the application must be made online. Secondly, applicants must pay a fee of $220 to the U.S. Department of State. Finally, applicants must be physically present in the United States before the visa expires.

Generally speaking, the requirements for a successful application are pretty straightforward. However, a few extra details may be necessary in some cases.